Hotties only: New exclusive club seeks Manila’s ‘greatest catches’

On a Monday night in the heart of bustling Makati Central Business District, a confused A_Space Manila administrator directed me to the secret event that had the building we were in pulsing with life.

“I think they’re in the kitchen,” he said as he led me two floors down to a brightly lit room with a bar, a sink, a stove, and a handful of guests cooking up something that wasn’t necessarily edible.

I stepped over an open guitar case with a sign that read “Hoochie Coochie Mikkie” taped inside. In the corner was a small table on which stood little bottles of different colored liquors. A chalk sign read, “From down the road: The Bonbon Club.”

A cheerful British lady greeted me as if we were old friends. After introducing herself as “Deanna,” she pulled me into the room, put a drink in my hand, introduced me to the circle of people congregating in the center, and commanded us to “mingle.”

The lady, as I later found out, was Deanna Rubiano, one half of the partnership behind Catch 88, a new members-only club that also advertises itself as a place where you can get a date who is as great a catch as yourself.

Read more about my night with Catch 88 on GMA News Online

IMG_2807

IMG_2839.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

